Loading... Please wait...

Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) Exam Preparation Sixth Edition



CCS Exam Preparation


Combining in-depth study materials covering CPT, HCPCS Level II, and newly incorporated ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS content with comprehensive testing practice, Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) Exam Preparation provides the added knowledge and test-taking skills to face the CCS certification exam with confidence. The practice exams, supplemental practice questions, case studies, and online assessments will help prepare you for the exam experience, providing opportunities to test your knowledge and skills. In addition, the newly added ICD-10 content will allow you to prepare for the transition to the current examinations, which launched in October 2015.

CCS domains:
Domain I: Health Information Documentation 
Domain II: Diagnosis Coding and Procedure Coding 
Domain III: Regulatory Guidelines and Reporting Requirements for Acute Care (Inpatient) Service 
Domain: IV: Regulatory Guidelines and Reporting Requirements for Outpatient Services 
Domain V: Data Quality and Management
Domain VI: Information and Communication Technologies
Domain VII: Privacy, Confidentiality, Legal, and Ethical Issues
Domain VIII: Compliance

Key Features

  • Two complete practice exams based on and organized by the CCS competency statements and tasks
  • Inpatient and outpatient medical cases
  • Online assessment contains 260+ multiple choice and multiple select questions

About the Author

Jennifer Hornung Garvin, PhD, MBA, RHIA, CCS, CPHQ, CTR, FAHIMA, is a health research science specialist at the Salt Lake City Veteran’s Administration IDEAS Research Center and an associate professor at the University of Utah School of Medicine’s Department of Bioinformatics. She has more than 25 years of experience in health information management and medical informatics.